Located at the end of Torrance Boulevard (west of Pacific Coast Highway) and just 10 minutes from LAX, the Redondo Beach Pier is a South Bay landmark worth visiting. Originally built in 1889, the pier has been reconstructed numerous times throughout the years. Its current horseshoe shape provides visitors with a unique opportunity for a scenic stroll with breathtaking panoramic ocean and coastline views.
The Pier, along with the adjacent International Boardwalk and Marina, together offer over 50 dining, entertainment and retail establishments. Dock your boat and walk right up to the arcade, spend some time shopping, or dine at one of the oceanfront restaurants. Live music can be enjoyed most nights during the summer, as well as numerous other events thanks to the Redondo Pier Association who is committed to providing FREE community events throughout the year. Events include one of Southern California’s longest-running kite festivals, an outdoor summer concert series, chalk art festival, classic car show, and the new Taste of the Pier! View our Beach Cities calendar for upcoming events.
HISTORY OF THE PIER courtesy of Redondo Pier website:
By the time Redondo Beach celebrated its centennial in 1992, the city’s coastline had seen at least seven piers. In 1889 the pier was a wharf at the foot of Emerald Street, designed to handle the enormous lumber trade from the Pacific Northwest. Two additional wharfs were added in 1895 and 1903. Traffic into the port was so busy that ships had to wait their turn for a spot at one of the piers, as Santa Fe rail cars transported the cargo inland as fast as possible. Erected in 1916, the V-shaped, concrete and steel “Endless Pier” (Wharf #2) was built South of Wharf #1 as a municipal pleasure pier with railroad tracks on one prong, the other for fishermen and tourists. Built by George W. Harding; Wharf #2 was 450-feet long and the northern leg stood in the spot previously occupied by Wharf #1. It was severely damaged in a 1919 storm and was replaced in the 1920’s by the wooden “Horseshoe Pier” (Wharf #3) built south of Wharf #2 and actively used by the lumber industry. Wharf #3 was manually demolished after the lumber industry phased out.
The Endless/Pleasure Pier was damaged by a storm in 1919; and condemned for safety reasons in 1928. The wooden “Monstad Pier” was later erected by Captain Hans C. Monstad for fishing and pleasure boat landings aboard the S.S. Rex, anchored nine miles out to sea. Portions of the Monstand Pier still exist today. In spite of the rebuilt, “mile-long” breakwater that protected the city’s shores, a 1963 winter storm blasted through the area, causing great damage. In 1970, a second pier known as the “Sportfishing Pier” opened south of Portofino Way and remains in use today. The wooden “Horseshoe Pier” was built after demolition of the Endless/Pleasure Pier. In 1988, the Horseshoe Pier was severely battered by two winter storms, and destroyed by a fire. Between 1988-1995, the southern Y-shaped remnant of the Horseshoe pier that survived the fire, remained open to the public. Completed in 1995, the current seventh generation restored pier is made of reinforced concrete, incorporating design elements that reflect upon the earlier structures.